Greetings from London!

 

IMG_3991

Hi, my name is Ariana Sanchez and I am an Apparel Merchandising and Management (AMM) student currently studying in London, England for Spring quarter 2017. I transferred to Cal Poly Pomona in the fall quarter of 2015 after I completed my Associate’s degree in Fashion Merchandising from Chaffey Community College. When I was looking for a Bachelor’s program the retail track interested me in the AMM department, but the London study abroad program won me over. Three of my closest friends have studied abroad in England and I had been considering doing a study abroad program after hearing their positive experiences.

The AMM study abroad program provides the opportunity to intern, live, and study in central London. In class, the coursework emphasizes on fast fashion retailing, apparel marketing research, and field study. With Monday’s and Friday’s dedicated to class, we spend the remaining three days interning at a London-based fashion company.

I have really enjoyed my time at Cal Poly Pomona and I am so grateful to have the opportunity to immerse myself in the culture of this city. With the help of my friend’s recommendations and multiple travel websites (X, X, X), I have compiled a list of things I want to do and places I want to go during my program:

  • Visit another European country (or two)
  • Afternoon tea
  • Go to a concert
  • Harry Potter studio tour
  • Platform 9 ¾
  • London eye
  • Kew Gardens
  • Visit museums! (British Museum, Tate Modern, Tate Britain, Natural History Museum, National Gallery, Victoria and Albert Museum, etc.)
  • Big ben
  • Westminster Abbey
  • Walk along the Thames river
  • Sunday roast
  • Go to an English pub
  • Eat fish and chips
  • Send postcards to family and friends
  • Buckingham Palace
  • See the changing of the guards
  • Visit banquet records
  • Tower Bridge tour
  • St. Paul’s cathedral
  • Picnic in park
  • View from the shard
  • Harrods
  • Abbey Road
  • See a play

In the short three weeks that I have been here, I have already been able to cross some things off of my list:

Typical touristy photo in front of Big Ben

IMG_3915

First concert, Ella Eyre at Koko 

new-doc-2017-04-17-14-50-26_1.jpg

IMG_8522
IMG_4079

And we got the setlist!

IMG_4087

Hampton Court Palace day trip with my roommate and our professor

IMG_4335
IMG_4334IMG_4294IMG_4468
IMG_4443

Oh, and I also decided I’m going to get my masters at Hogwarts

IMG_3707

 

It has been a fun-filled couple of weeks and I can’t wait to share the rest of my adventures with you all!

 

 

Leave a Reply

